Mash-up

 

My teenage daughter introduced me to the term ‘mash-up’.  I believe it refers to different songs being mixed together to create something new but the old still be recognizable.  An example is the combination of  ‘Clocks’ from Coldplay and ‘Chicago’ from Sufjan Stevens.   You can find some really awesome examples on YouTube.

Anyway when I look at this image it reminds me of a mash-up.  I borrowed a zigzag indian textile design that I liked and superimposed other stuff I had created before but as yet had ‘no home’.

Its like looking at something familiar but in a new light.

Leave a Reply

